Doughnut Hole Does Domesticity: Thanksgiving Edition

Standard

First of all, to clear up any confusion, Doughnut Hole is the name of the house I live in with my four roommates.

D-Hole Dwellers

When I first came to college I thought it was strange for a house to have a name, but, for whatever reason, a good number of houses around Kirksville have names associated with them, especially if Greek people are the renters. Donut Hole comes from the hilarious and clever nickname Alpha Grab a Donut. Personally, I’m partial to All Groceries Demolished, but who am I to question tradition? These are all of my roommates before our Fall date party, which I posted about here.

And tonight we decided to celebrate Thanksgiving before we all went home for break.  We went all out, and I’ve decided to let the pictures do the talking.

But first we had to say Grace the Alpha Gam way.  Its a little blurry, but, let’s be honest, our beautiful voices are what’s really speaking to your souls.

IMG_0384 IMG_0412

IMG_0416 IMG_0421

IMG_0413 IMG_0420

It’s rare that all of us are in one place for a given meal, especially during this time of the semester when everyone is bogged down with group projects, presentations, papers, and finals are looming over our heads.  When we finally nailed down a day and began making the grocery list, I was so excited to have something to look forward to in a hectic week.

This meal was the perfect excuse to break out one of my most favorite things I’ve ever made: the hot guy apron

IMG_0387 IMG_0394 IMG_0392

1.) Modeling aprons is awkward 2.) A few personal favorites close up…

IMG_0396 IMG_0397

The fabric is from an Alexander Henry line and a similar apron pattern can be found here.  Aprons are a great gateway from sewing simple things like pillows to clothes.  You get experience working with patterns and stitches that accomplish more than a straight line.

Working together to make the meal and seeing everyone around the table with all of our homework tucked away for the time being was a nice reminder that these girls are my second family and this is my home away from home.  The time I’ve spent with my chosen few over the past 2.5 years has been invaluable and has shaped me in ways I’m sure I don’t even realize.  I owe my best times to them and have counted on them during my worst.  I don’t know where I’ll be in ten years, or five years, or even one year, but I know I’ll always have them, and that’s what I’m thankful for today.

What are you thankful for this season?

Peace and Progress,

JQ

Leave a Reply

